Lagunenses soon to benefit Level III DOH-managed general hospital

Spread this info

CALAMBA CITY, Laguna– The people of this province will soon benefit the services of a Level III General Hospital managed by the Department of Health (DOH) as the 19th Congress of the  House of Representatives approved on third reading House Bill 1716.

Records show that House Bill 1716 is authored by 2nd District of Laguna Representative Ruth Mariano-Hernandez, which is an Act Converting the Bay District Hospital in the Municipality of Bay, Province of Laguna into a General Hospital, to be known as the Laguna Regional Hospital, and appropriating funds therefore, which was filed on July 11, 2022 and is now transmitted to the House of Senate and eventually signed by the President of the Republic into a law.

In her social media statement posted today, Congresswoman Hernandez. said that “the nine District Hospitals managed by the provincial government will have to cope up with the medical needs of the growing population of more than 3 million based on the latest census”.

“In the CALABARON (Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Rizal, and Quezon) Region, Laguna is the only province where there is no DOH-managed General Hospital,” she stated adding that “we need to improve and upgrade the capacity of our health care system to meet the needs of our growing population.”

Moreover, Cong. Hernandez explained that the bill will have to get the approval of the House of Senate and the final approval of the President of the Republic of the Philippines in order to become into law and take effect and “ we have already made the move to make our dream come true for a better health care services in the province.”

Laguna is a landlocked province composed of six cities and 24 municipalities with four congressional districts and two lone districts. Calamba City used to belong to the second district together with Cabuyao City, Los Banos and Bay municipalities until it was declared a lone district in 2018. Binan City in the first district was also declared a lone district in 2015.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *